Facebook – past the tipping point

Malcolm Gladwell writes that the tipping point is “that moment in an epidemic when a virus reaches critical mass. It’s the boiling point. It’s the moment on the graph when the line starts to shoot straight upwards.”

Facebook has passed the tipping point, and is now being used by a large majority of my clients, friends, and even a growing number of my ‘youth challenged’ (read: old and scared of computers) colleagues.

Last week I wrote at Joyful Jubilant Learning about how you can use facebook as a tool to generate revenue for your business (although I’m not generating as much as Facebook founder, and my fraternity brother Mark Zuckerberg is), and today I want to share at why I think it’s so good for that.

One of my newest friends of the ‘book, Robert Scoble, has a great thought on why Facebook has made the leap from a ‘personal’ tool to a ‘business’ one:   “Facebook is the better networking tool is BECAUSE it’s personal.”

He goes on to explain:  Facebook “told me the day [Danny] got accepted into Cornell, for instance. That stuff just comes up in regular conversation. But I don’t remember his wife’s name, Facebook shows that (they just got back from their honeymoon). I didn’t know his favorite drink. Mojitos. I got just the place to take him for great Mojitos when he comes out to visit. Facebook shows that. And I didn’t know anything about his social network. Facebook shows that too. Looking at the groups he’s added I can tell a lot more about him. He’s into going to free movie screenings in NYC, likes BMWs, reads the Economist, and lots more.”

I think facebook works because their really is no difference between ‘personal’ and ‘business.’  For example, you can’t be a jerk at the office and a nice guy at home.  Or honest at the office and a cheat at home – people are who they are, no matter where they are.

Some people are uncomfortable with this, and don’t share lots on their profile (which is what we call a Facebook homepage).  Some embrace it, and open up their lives to the people they know.  I think I have lots of info on my profile – what do you think?  What’s on your profile?

What I like most about Facebook these days is that it is a great platform for me.  While I love my blog, it is a passive site – the only people who come to the site are those that type in the web address, click a link, or have it bookmarked.

In contract, Facebook is active, through no work of my own.

Everytime I publish a blog post, put up a new picture, add to Vinnie Chase Bach’s dogbook profile (yes, our Samoyed is on dodbook), put a new book into my iRead, change my status (which right now reads: Benjamin Bach is going to be interviewed by Karen Salmansohn on Sirius Satelite ch#114 Monday 8-9am), EVERYONE in my friend list, several hundred people spanning from teenage cousins of mine to best selling authors, get a notice about it in their  news feed.  Everytime someone visits my profile, they will see all of this, and more – including great quotes from the only thing on TV worth watching, Entourage.

It’s like having your own channel on the internet, and everytime a new show comes up, a message is sent out to everyone who has me as a friend.

Am I on your friend list?  If I’m not, add me here!  You’ll be able to see all the interesting people who are on my friend’s list, and find out about all the awesome things going on, right as they happen.

Benjamin Bach Cartoon

Benjamin Bach is a Sales Representative with Keller Williams Golden Triangle Realty in Kitchener Waterloo.  Benjamin has been facebooking since 2004, and would love to help you use it as a tool in your life too!

If you are interested in how you can start your Real Estate Investment portfolio, have any questions about buying or selling a rental, income or investment property in the Waterloo Region, or are looking for a tip on a great book to read, please email Benjamin at (benjamin(AT)benjaminbach.com) or call him at 519 570 4447.

2 responses to “Facebook – past the tipping point

  1. Pingback: Joyful Jubilant Learning

  2. I couldn’t agree with you more! There was a time in my life where I wouldn’t have been comfortable to have my business life and my professional life cross, but that is no longer the case.

Leave a Reply

