A relationship built on honesty, service and selflessness

About six months ago, I received a package in the mail. It was another audio program from Richard Robbins International. This program, entitled ‘Quantum Leap’ (which is a popular phrase in the real estate world) was an interview Rich was doing with Christopher Invidiata who is one of the top 2 or 3 Realtors in Canada in terms of volums sold, and probably the #1 Realtor in Ontario (last year, he was the #1 ranked team for Re/Max Canada). Christopher is an amazing person, who has several successful businesses, including part ownership in Re/Max Italy, and a luxury home building company in Oakville. He makes several million dollars a year, and leads a very balanced life – dinner at home with his family every night is a non negotiable item.

I had the opportunity to speak with Christopher when I was in Vancouver for RRi’s IGNITE achievement conference this past July, and what was amazing was that when Christopher looks at you, you can tell he loves you. He walks around with love and gratitude for everyone and everything, and his life is a reflection of that.

In the interview, Christopher was telling the story of how he started selling real estate in Oakville, Ontario (which is a ‘suburb’ of Toronto; it’s a short drive outside of the GTA). One of his first clients was a gentleman who was selling a large house, and had a conditional offer to buy a piece of waterfront property (Oakville has some of the nicest waterfront property in Canada… there are listings on the market in the $40 million neighborhood). Another offer came in, and Christopher’s client couldn’t firm up (with his current house still on the market) since he had just bought his partner out of their trucking company.

Christopher told the client to let the property go, and that they’d find another one. The client was relieved that he hadn’t tried to pressure him into making the sale (as a ‘salesman’ would have done), and a bond was formed between the two of them because his client knew that he had only the best interests of the client at heart, and it wasn’t about the fee, or closing the sale etc.

I’ve listened to this interview at least a dozen times. I keep it in my car (although it’s currently on loan to my good friend Dave) and listen to it while I drive (it’s one of a few dozen audio programs that are in my CD changer at all times), and I always learn something new from Christopher. He’s built business that I aspire to own, and he is an incredible role model.

This afternoon I had a ‘Christopher Invidiata’ moment. A client of mine put in an offer on a duplex last week. A counter offer came back signed back, and we decided to meet this afternoon to discuss the strategy for our negotiations. When my client came in this afternoon, they said that they were no longer interested in the property, but wanted to buy 4 or 5 smaller properties in Hamilton (a nearby city with lower prices and better cash flow – but less upside appreciation). After they laid out their vision for the next few years, we spoke about the best way to get there, and I agreed that this property isn’t right for them, at this point. We spent another 20 minutes talking about investments, and their five and ten year goals.

When our meeting was over, they told me they were relieved that I didn’t try to ‘sell’ them on the property they didn’t want, just to ‘close the sale.’ They saw that I put their interests (what is best for the long term portfolio) above my short term interests (a large fee on the sale), and a bond had been formed. Even though we’ve only known each other a few weeks, they now know that they can trust all the advice I give them on growing their wealth, since they know I put them first. I’ve committed to them, and they’ve committed to me. It’s an awesome win-win.

My enduring purpose, which can be found on the top left of my website, is to build relationships with and contribute significant value to my clients while attracting success with my integrity and actions; to help people I have relationships with achieve wealth, be it financial, emotional or spiritual, while living a balanced life of my own; and to give back to the world before it gives to me.

This afternoon was a good example of how my Enduring Purpose – which is both a reflection of how I want myself to act and how I currently act (sort of the standard I hold myself to) – has shaped my character. Thanks to looking for the true win-win I have strengthened a relationship with awesome Clients who wants me to build their wealth to a very high level over the next several years – and I’m ready to do it.

If you’ve ever wondered about how you can start investing in Real Estate, email or call me, and I will gladly sit down and explain how you can get started. I also put on regular educational events where you can come learn how to start your real estate portfolio. Both the consultations and educational events are free, so come out and bring a friend. It could change their life.

Benjamin Bach is a Real Estate Consultant with Keller Williams Golden Triangle Realty in Kitchener Waterloo. He is passionate about building wealth for his clients, and loves nothing more than to help people start building equity and get on the road to financial freedom and abundance. He wakes up each morning excited to fulfill his mission of building wealth for his clients through smart Real Estate investments, and helping people achieve success. If you are interested in how you can start your Real Estate portfolio, or have any questions about buying a home or selling a home, you can email Benjamin (benjamin AT benjaminbach.com) or reach him at 519 772 4376.

bach-logo.jpg

Subscribe to Benjamin Bach’s KW Market Watch by Email

2 responses to “A relationship built on honesty, service and selflessness

  1. Ben on his current blog once again shows why he is a “wealth builder” and not a “realtor”. Unlike most “commision breath’d” salespeople, who only see the $$$ in their short sighted ways, Benjamin sees the long term potential, and the advantage of putting the “Client First” to build a relationship and not just another “deal” to close.

    I feel that this sets him apart in the marketplace, and those who
    utilize his skills and talents will be customers for life, as together they will see the investments and personal wealth grow, instead of trying to remember the guy whos “sold them a house”. I have know Ben for only a few short months, and my life and way of thinking have bothchanged radically, and my life has got nothing but better as a result.

    Some things sound “Too good to be True”…this is NOT one of them.

  2. I have known Ben for quite some time now and it amazes me how each and every day he is continuously improving himself. Today Ben, you just demonstrated something that most multi-million dollar corporations understand but have trouble executing – creating a completely consumer-oriented approach to business. Well done!

Leave a Reply

