The Card Effect

I send out thank you notes. I have ever since my mother sat me down after my bar mitzvah and explained what a kerfufle it would be if I didn’t send cards to all of our family and friends who gave me presents.

This habit has served me well in business, and I’ve come to discover what I call the Card Effect. The card I send out now has been adapted from Bob Burg’s (www.burg.com) classic card template found in Endless Referrals, and features a picture of me, my company’s logo, and my Enduring Purpose (found on the left sidebar of this site). I write in the right hand half with a fountain pen, and send it off in a plain white envelope, hand addressed of course.

I can attribute several business relationships, and one or two referrals, directly to the cards I send out. After I meet someone for the first time, I’ll send them a note explaining how nice it was to meet them, and letting them know that they can always look to me for help and whatnot. I then try to send a card every few months, and after each time I see them. Including a relevant article or something useful is an added bonus.

This afternoon was a prime example of the card effect in action. I had the pleasure of hearing Angela Mondou speak (more on her in a later post tonight) at the Launchpad 50K Kick Off party. I ran into several people I knew, including one venture capitalist who I had met a few months back at a chamber of commerce event. We met again last week at a breakfast talk, and later that morning I sent him a card saying I wish we could have spoken more. Well, what do you know, he came up to me this afternoon, apologized for not spending more time with me last week, and said ‘it would seem unlikely that we won’t be doing business in the future.’ He thanked me for the nice note I sent him. Boom.

The reason the Card Effect works so well is because no one takes the time to write a note anymore. We get so many emails and text messages (which by the way is my most common form of communication), that when someone takes the time to hand write a note, we really appreciate it.

Last week I ran into someone I met six months ago at a Chamber event (my new member orientation actually), and haven’t seen since. I went to shake my hand, and introduced myself again since I wasn’t sure if he’d remember my name. Of course, he did “Ben, of course I remember you. Your card is sitting on my desk!”

Benjamin Bach is an Investment Real Estate Consultant with Keller Williams Golden Triangle Realty in Kitchener Waterloo dedicated to building wealth for his clients through smart Real Estate investments, and helping people achieve success. If you are interested in how you can start your Real Estate portfolio, or have any questions and buying or selling a home, you can email Benjamin or reach him through his office at 519 570 4447. 

Leave a Reply

